Capital University

Columbus, OH
Student Size
College Type
Private University|Religious

About Our College

Capital University was founded on June 3, 1830, as the "Theological Seminary of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Ohio" in Canton, Ohio,[5] 40 years before the founding of Ohio State University, making it the oldest university in Central Ohio. It moved to downtown Columbus in 1832. On March 2, 1850, The non-seminary portion of the school was renamed Capital University and the seminary was renamed the Evangelical Lutheran Theological Seminary (ELTS). At that time the denomination was renamed to the Evangelical Lutheran Joint Synod of Ohio and Other States and grew into a nationwide church body. The first president of the renamed university was William Morton Reynolds.[8]

Learn More