About Our College
The Sisters of Mercy arrived in Pittsburgh on December 21, 1843. They traveled from County Carlow, Ireland to the Oakland area of Pittsburgh, where they purchased 13 acres (5.3 ha) within the Diocese of Pittsburgh. This land became the location of a new motherhouse and Our Lady of Mercy Academy. Some reports state that the site of the current campus was the location of a Civil War fortification named Fort Zug.