George Fox University
About Our College
The university was founded in Newberg, Oregon, in 1885 by Quaker pioneers, originally called Friends Pacific Academy for several years before becoming a college in 1891 as Pacific College. The Bruin mascot comes from a real bear cub found in 1887 in the Coast Range's foothills near Carlton, about 15 miles (24 km) west of Newberg. The cub's mother had been shot, and a Pacific Academy student found the cub and brought it back to campus. Years later, the bear hide became the senior class's unofficial mascot, and other students often attempted to steal it away. After the hide deteriorated, a leather replica was created and called Bruin Jr. Students today still participate in student-government-sponsored class competitions called "Bruin brawls" for possession of Bruin Jr.