Georgia Southwestern State University

Americus, GA
Student Size
College Type
Public University

About Our College

Georgia Southwestern State University, originally the Third District Agricultural and Mechanical School, was founded in 1906. In 1926, the Georgia General Assembly granted the school a charter that authorized it to become a two-year college and to change its name to the Third District Agricultural and Normal College. The new charter also allowed the school to offer teacher training courses. The State Department of Education granted teacher certification to all students who completed the teacher training program.

Learn More