Rockville Centre, NY
About Our College
In 1941 the Sisters of St. Dominic purchased 25 acres in Rockville Centre. In 1955 the Dominican Sisters of Amityville founded Molloy Catholic College. It was established as a women's college appointing Mother Anselma Ruth, O.P., Ph.D., as the first president. A year later the first institutional building called Quealy Hall opened. Soon after, Mother Bernadette de Lourdes, O.P., was appointed as the second president followed by the opening of Kellenberg Hall. In 1959 the first commencement ceremony took place celebrating the first graduating class. In 1971 its name was changed to Molloy College. In 1972 it began accepting men into the nursing program and in 1982 became fully coeducational.