Mount Aloysius College
About Our College
Mount Aloysius College was established in 1853 by a small community of sisters from the Sisters of Mercy, during which time St. Aloysius Academy was constructed in a tinner's shop in Loretto, PA. In 1897, the academy moved to its present location in Cresson. Through an initiative of Sister Mary de Sales Farley, R.S.M., the academy became Mount Aloysius Junior College in 1939. Then, in 1991, the college expanded and amended its charter to allow the conferment of bachelor's degrees. In 2000, the college's charter was amended again to include master's degrees.