Queens University of Charlotte
About Our College
Founded in 1857 as the Charlotte Female Institute, the school was originally at College and 9th streets in what is now Uptown Charlotte. From 1891 to 1896, it was called the Seminary for Girls. In 1896, the Concord and Mecklenburg Presbyteries chartered the Presbyterian Female College. The seminary merged with this new college. In 1912, anticipating the move to the present campus in the Myers Park neighborhood, the school became Queens College.