South Mountain Community College

Phoenix, AZ
Student Size
College Type
Public University|Community College

About Our College

South Mountain Community College was established by the governing board of the Maricopa County Community College District on April 18, 1978. The campus was designed by local architect Bennie Gonzales,[1] opening its doors in 1980. Serving Phoenix, Ahwatukee, Guadalupe and Laveen, South Mountain Community College offers associate degrees, certificates of completion, courses that transfer to universities and technology training to 7,500 students each year.[2] The college takes its name from South Mountain, which is a few kilometers to the south of campus. The main campus is in Phoenix, Arizona, with additional locations in Guadalupe and Laveen. South Mountain Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and is a Hispanic Serving Institution.

Learn More