Danville Area Community College
Public University|Community College
About Our College
In 1946, the University of Illinois opened extension centers in several Illinois towns to help meet the educational needs of World War II veterans. In Danville, the center was housed at Danville High School under the direction of Principal R. M. Duffin. The centers were closed in the spring of 1949, and Danville School District 118 decided to continue teaching college classes using the name Danville Community College. Mary Miller, who had headed the DHS English department, led the new college. At that time the tuition rate was $5.00 per credit hour, with a $5.00 student and library fee. In 1951, the name was changed to Danville Junior College.