Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg, MA
Student Size
College Type
Public University

About Our College

Fitchburg State University was founded as the State Normal School in Fitchburg in 1894 by the Massachusetts General Court. Its first President was John G. Thompson (President 1895–1920). Initially a secondary-education school for women, the Normal School was not authorized to grant bachelor's degrees until 1930, after the presidency of William D. Parkinson (1920–1927), and during Charles M. Herlihy's (1927–1945) tenure. In 1932, that authorization was extended to all academic disciplines in Education. At the same time, the name was changed to State Teachers College at Fitchburg. Charles M. Herlihy died while in office and was succeeded by William J. Sanders (1945–1950) and Ellis F. White (1950–1953).

Learn More