Northeast Mississippi Community College

Booneville, MS
Student Size
College Type
Public University|Community College

About Our College

The college was founded in 1948 as Northeast Mississippi Junior College, and became known primarily as an agricultural school and junior college. The land that the college sits on was sold to the state by Dr. W. H. Sutherland, with the express desire that a college be built in Booneville. The agricultural high school status was dropped a year later. The name of the school changed again to its current form in 1987. It has extension centers located in New Albany, Ripley and Corinth. Northeast Mississippi Community College's service area is made up of five counties: Alcorn, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo, and Union.[1]

Learn More