Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Magnolia, AR
Student Size
College Type
Public University

About Our College

Southern Arkansas University was established by an Act of the Arkansas Legislature in 1909 as a district agricultural high school for southwest Arkansas and was originally named Third District Agricultural School, often called by students and faculty "TDAS."[3] Its first term began in January 1911, with its curriculum including only subjects at the secondary school level.[4] In 1925, the State Legislature authorized the school to add two years of college work and to change its name to Agricultural and Mechanical College, Third District (Magnolia A&M).[5][self-published source] The school continued to offer both high school and junior college courses until 1937, at which time the high school courses were discontinued.[6]

Learn More