Trevecca Nazarene University
About Our College
TNU was founded in 1901 by Cumberland Presbyterian minister J. O. McClurkan as the "Pentecostal Literary and Bible Training School". Part of the Pentecostal Alliance, it started offering bachelor's degrees in 1910, and the school's name was changed to Trevecca College for Christian Workers in 1911, after Trevecca College (now Coleg Trefeca) in Wales. The school was located in downtown Nashville until 1914, when it was moved to East Nashville on Gallatin Road. In 1917, the campus suffered a disastrous fire, and its students and faculty temporarily transferred to Ruskin Cave College. That same year, the school became an official college of the Church of the Nazarene, in order to save itself financially. Shortly after it had become a Nazarene institution, it absorbed the Southeastern Nazarene College of Georgia but still found itself in bankruptcy and forced to sell its campus by 1932.